2017 Site Visits

Site Visits to our Grantees

We celebrated with the eight 2016-17 Women’s Fund grantees when they accepted their grants last May at our Presentation of Grants Reception. At our Site Visit Kick-Off on September 26, we learned how the grantees are using the funds to change lives in the community. Now we have the opportunity to experience personal visits with the grantees and some of their clients. (See below for a description of each of our eight grants.)

Plan on visiting one, two or all of the grantees. Make your own schedule and experience our Women’s Fund grants in action. Click the Register Now button above or below to make your selection.

The grantees need to limit the number of guests per visit so it is important that you register as soon as possible. Opportunities are booked on a first-come-first-served basis. Registration closes October 15.

Visits will take place between October 18 and December 14, 2017.

Please do not contact the grantees directly. They have provided specific dates and times when they can accommodate Women’s Fund members and their guests.

2016-17 Women’s Fund Grants

  • Accelerated Reader Program - $25,000 to improve reading proficiency by expanding libraries in K-3 classrooms in the Santa Barbara Unified School District.
  • AHA! Attitude.Harmony.Achievement. - $70,000 to expand the Peace Builders program to prevent bullying at three additional junior high schools. 
  • Casa Pacifica - $75,000 to expand rapid mobile crisis weekend response for children and youth experiencing a mental health emergency.
  • Channel Islands YMCA, Noah's Anchorage - $65,000 to provide upgrades in facilities and furnishings to meet new state accreditation requirements.
  • Domestic Violence Solutions - $55,000 to replace old playground equipment with a safe, inviting play system for children fleeing domestic violence.
  • PEAC - Program for Effective Access to College - $75,000 to increase college readiness and acceptance rates for low-income students by expanding the program to all secondary schools. 
  • Peoples' Self-Help Housing - $60,000 to establish onsite learning centers, providing bilingual tutoring and coaching, at two new low-income housing projects.
  • St. Vincent's - $60,000 to address legal problems and expand parenting education for single mothers transitioning to jobs and permanent housing.

 

REGISTER NOW: RSVPS ARE FIRST-COME, FIRST-SERVED

 

September 27th, 2017 7:00 AM   through   December 11th, 2017 4:30 PM
Grantee Addresses to be provided upon Confirmation by your Site Visit Coordinator
Accelerated Reader Program
CLOSED Friday, October 27, 8:15-9:15am
Friday, November 3, 9:15-10:15am
Wednesday, November 8, 8:15-9:15am
Wednesday, December 6, 9:15-10:15am
Friday, December 8, 9:15-10:15am
AHA! Attitude. Harmony. Achievement.
Tuesday, December 5, 3:15-5:00pm, Unitarian Society Jefferson Hall
Wednesday, December 6, 1:45-3:10pm, Santa Barbara Junior High
Thursday, December 7, 2:05-3:30pm, La Colina Junior High
Thursday, December 7, 3:15-5:00pm, Unitarian Society Jefferson Hall
Casa Pacifica
CANCELLED - Thursday, October 19, 12:30-1:30pm
Thursday, November 2, 12:30-1:30pm
Thursday, November 16, 12:30-1:30pm
Thursday, November 30, 12:30-1:30pm
Thursday, December 14, 12:30-1:30pm
Channel Islands YMCA, Noah's Anchorage
Thursday, October 26, 10:00-11:00am
Thursday, November 2, 10:00-11:00am
Thursday, November 9, 10:00-11:00am
Thursday, November 16, 10:00-11:00am
Thursday, November 30, 10:00-11:00am
Domestic Violence Solutions
Tuesday, November 14, 10:00-11:00am
Tuesday, November 14, 1:00-2:00pm
Wednesday, November 15, 10:00-11:00am
Wednesday, November 15, 1:00-2:00pm
Thursday, November 16, 10:00-11:00am
PEAC - Program for Effective Access to College
CLOSED Monday, October 23, 5:15-6:15pm
CLOSED Thursday, October 26, 5:15-6:15pm
Wednesday, November 1, 5:15-6:15pm
Monday, November 6, 5:15-6:15pm
Monday, December 4, 5:15-6:15pm
Peoples' Self-Help Housing
CLOSED Wednesday, October 18, 3:00-4:00pm, Casas de las Flores
Wednesday, November 1, 3:00-4:00pm, Casas de las Flores
Friday, December 8, 2:00-3:00pm, Jardin de las Rosas
St. Vincent's
CLOSED Wednesday, October 25, 12:00-1:00pm
Wednesday, November 15, 12:00-1:00pm
Wednesday, November 29, 12:00-1:00pm